Skip to content

The Goose To My Maverick | Everyone Needs A Wingman

November 2, 2010

Think back… WAY back. Who was that kid next to you in the photographic memory snapshot when you broke the old lady down the streets window with a rock? Or the kid keeping a look out when you snuck into that shed in the backyard next door? That was your wingman.

Back when I was a little red-headed hell raiser of a child, my wingman was Mikey across the street… we got into PLENTY of trouble, but time turned and we grew apart. Now that I’m in the professional world I’ve found myself a new wingman. He’s the Goose to my Maverick, his name is Tim. (or as I call him, the Ninja)

Tim’s always there to back my move and I’m always behind the scenes supporting his next play. We’re always bouncing blog ideas off each other, brainstorming the next step in our plot for social media domination, and finding ways for the other to improve.

The basic function of a wingman is to cover your back. In terms that apply to my life, my wingman has the important job of keeping me in check. When I start to get hot under the collar or begin to rant, Tim‘s there to push me back in line. When Tim misses a step or drops even the smallest detail of a project I’m there to catch it before it hits the floor and help keep him running at full capacity.

Everyone needs a wingman, someone to tell them when they’re doing something stupid or knock sense back into them when they cross the line. Two heads are better than one…

Who’s your wingman? And have you thanked them lately? Even teammates need a pat on the back once in a while!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 5:17 pm

    Good thoughts Stephen.

  2. November 2, 2010 7:36 pm

    Stephen – If you like the wingman concept, I wrote a book on it called Never Fly Solo – it’s a New York Times bestseller.

    Your Wingman,
    Waldo

  3. November 10, 2010 6:26 am

    Domination – ha!

Leave a comment