Skip to content

The Target Down Range

November 23, 2010

I wanted to name this post, “Life through the scope.” But I figured not many people would be able to relate to how life feels right now. Fate has dealt me an interesting opportunity, before me lays a rifle with one round in it. Down range is my target, it’s hit or go home… and I’m feeling the stress.

My bullet isn’t made up of a metal jacket, there’s no firing cap or gun powder. My bullet is my up entirely of skill and determination. My target isn’t a paper outline of an enemy, it’s a clear pathway to the next step of my career. I’ have one chance to line up the sights, steady my pulse, stare down the scope at my target, and peel off my single shot.

Missing means that I’m out of ammo, I’ve expended all my options, and I’m at the mercy of the other shooters on the range. I’m not willing to put my fat on the hopes that someone else misses their target. I’ve been well-trained by my superiors, my trusty rifle is at my side, and my spotter has my back. Time to take the shot…

Guess you’ll just have to stay tuned to see if I hit my mark..

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 8:36 pm

    Good luck! I’m rooting for you!

    You have a lot of violent images in your blog! A sleeper cell and now a sniper rifle! Coincidence?

Leave a Reply

